Response to Your Purpose

July 4, 2011

Man_Up

There comes a point in every man’s life that he must accept his place in God’s plan for his life. After a lifetime of watching and observing others in that step it is still mind boggling considering the different responses people choose. Some walk through calmly like it is no big deal while others struggle with every decision. Yes, I said decision. It is a sovereign decision.

One of the toughest things for me originally was this particular step of accepting God’s plan for my life. After I was saved there was a time that I knew God wanted more from me. I prayed and took advantage of opportunities of ministry as they came available. As time went on direction of specific calling became clear. I knew that not only was I called to preach, I was called to pastor. I understood there was a specific calling on my life. What I didn’t understand was that I was only partially in control of fulfilling it.

We will probably determine that knowing God’s will and accepting God’s plan are two separate issues. We may be able to see the direction. We can certainly sense urgency. The Holy Spirit’s job is to draw us close and direct our steps. However we probably don’t know the specifics of the timing. Our reply to the urgency and sensitivity to the drawing of the spirit is going to be extremely important during this time. God knows His plans for us. He is for us.

Man_Up and be the man that God wants you to be.

